McCalls Restaurant

I often take McCalls Restaurant buffet food out in one of their take-out cartons. It’s a white styrofoam container with divided sections. I always get more  items than the number of sections, so my lunch resembles a casserole by the time I’m done.

Today I saw they had turkey and dressing and gravy and I got a little excited. I’m an older person now and sometimes have some coordination problems.

There was a young man who seemed to be following me around the buffet. He made me nervous on top of my already excitedly shaking hand. I don’t usually spill anything, but today was different.

He was peering over my shoulder at “what are those green looking things?” he asked the attendant. I turned and told him they were fried okra before she could figure out what he was referring to. In my excited state, I flung two of them into the mashed potatoes. “Now they’re in the mashed potatoes”, I told him.

He stood there as if deciding whether he wanted any of those “green things” while I tried to manuver the gravy ladle that was under a low hanging lamp and impossible to tilt . . . there went gravy all over everything in my container. Good thing I like it.

When I finally got home and took out my container, the bag it was in had gravy in the bottom of it. All the contents had slid to one side of the container and now it really was a hodgepodge mess.

If I see that man in McCalls again, I’m going to either eat in, wait until he’s filled his plate, or turn around and leave.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

