How Many Words

How many words can a dog understand? I saw the number in an article somewhere sometime but can’t remember the scientific number.

My young dog, Joy, is learning new words daily.

I wasn’t ready for a puppy – or another dog – after my beloved Magic died, but Magic’s daughter was stuck in grief and Joy, the puppy I brought home, got her out of it. Good girl.

My three sons seemed to enjoy Joy and played with her. The dog I still had left, Blackie, helped to housetrain her as Joy would do whatever Blackie did, when Blackie did it.

Recently I’ve spent much more time with Joy. I talk to her a lot and find it amusing when she cocks her head to the side when she hears a word she recognizes.

She knows my oldest son’s name and when I tell her he’s coming today, she’ll take a seat by the door to wait. She knows he’s here long before I do. She alerts me with her barking and greets him as he opens the door.

I am trying to train her to love the outdoors like I do. She’s learned the word “Behave”. It’s what I tell her when she barks at the neighbors or anyone else she shouldn’t bark at. Strangers? Bark away. That’s your job. I wrote about a silly man who was selling something and thought it was a good idea to reach across Joy’s head to hand me a pamphlet.

I’ve written a lot about Joy.

She’s recently begun to spell. If I ask my son if he’s taken her O-U-T, she stands up and heads for the door with her tail wagging.

I believe animals are far more intelligent than we give them credit for.

My dogs can not only understand my words, but they have trained me to know what some of their actions mean.

Has your dog trained you to do certain things?

Communication.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

