Actually

I just found out that my dog, Joy, recognizes what the word “actually” means. We had tacos for dinner. She was in the kitchen and as I cleaned up, I tossed her a bite of hamburger that was still in the pan.

“All gone!” I told her, and she turned to walk out of the kitchen.

As I picked up the pan, I said, “Actually” . . . and was going to call her back, but she turned immediately and came back to me and sat with wagging tail. She knew I was going to say, “Actually, there is one more bite left”.

Who knew? Who knew that I’ve said that to her enough times that she now knows the word, “actually”?

I talk to her all the time.

When my son took her whining self out to potty (she’d been asking for a few minutes), she stood dismayed in the carport watching the rain. He stood there with her. He was silent. She was unhappy.

I put on my shoes and went out. “Oh, it’s raining!” I said. “It was raining when I brought Blackie out a few minutes ago and she walked right out in that rain and did her business and it was fine.” Joy looked at me skeptically. “Really!” I said, as I took a step towards the yard that wasn’t covered with the carport. “She went out and did her pees, and she was back in the house before she hardly got wet. I even walked to the mailbox.” I took another step.

Joy looked at the rain and looked at me and then went on out to her favorite spot and squatted. Yay! I cheered her on! I told her what a GOOD DOG! she was. And I did it from the shelter of the carport.

As soon as she finished, she ran back to me and we came back inside. I asked my son “Wasn’t she a GOOD GIRL??”

“Yeah, she was good, Mom,” he said. (She’s the one he needs to tell it to.)

Let me see what “actually” means . . . the definition online:

ac·tu·al·ly
ˈak(t)SH(əw)əlē/
adverb
 
  1. 1.
    as the truth or facts of a situation; really.
    “we must pay attention to what young people are actually doing”

It looks like Joy and I have been using the word correctly.

 

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

