Do You Talk To Your Dog?

Do you talk to your dogs? I find myself using the same phrases over and over, without even thinking about it. Then I am surprised when they know what I’m saying.

I would guess that my dogs each have at least a 500 word vocabulary.  They know phrases, such as, “go out”, “go for a walk”, “go for a ride in the car”, “pees and poops?”, “look at this” . . .

I once had a dog named Magic who could communicate back. Any time I asked her if she wanted to do something, and the answer was NO!, she would sit down.

My current dogs continue to learn new words and phrases. This morning I told my young dog, Joy, that I wanted to show her something . . . “I want to show you something,” I said to her and she immediately went to her food dish. Well, I must say those words every time I put a bite of people food or a treat into her food dish. I didn’t realize it until she ran ahead of me to her dish.

Have you ever sat down and tried to figure out what words your dog(s) know? I’ve done this and was amazed at all the phrases they had learned.  Some of the words might even be bad words, as I learned one day as I exclaimed “Damnit!” over something that wasn’t working right and glanced up to see my dog looking worriedly at me.

Just for fun, watch your dog as you talk to him or her. You may see just how brilliant your pet is!

My cat also understands many phrases. She hides her knowledge well, however, unless it suits her to share it. She knows “here’s your breakfast”. She also knows “come here” and “go there”, but she doesn’t always follow directions. “Time for your medicine” is a phrase I no longer say to her.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

