Retirement?

I’m probably not going back to work anymore and that saddens me in a way. I worked with Kindergarteners and First Graders in small reading groups. You’d be surprised the things children that age will blurt out in the middle of a lesson.

Since my groups ranged in size from 3 to 6 children, I did not require them to raise their hands. They could just speak whatever they wanted to say about what we were reading. Sometimes they’d blurt out something that didn’t pertain to what we were reading. I’d steer them back to what we should be talking about.

I will miss them. I felt like a rock star when I’d walk down the hall. Children would wave at me. Sometimes in the mornings they would stop by my room to talk to me on their way to class. Sometimes their parents would drop in to chat. Once in awhile a child would ask how S/HE could be in one of my groups.

I write a lot. One of the books I’m working on is about being a teacher in public schools. You hear and see a lot when you work with young children. I worked with preschoolers one year. There was one boy who consistently called the color yellow “Red”. I tried to work on his confusion. We’d review yellow and we’d review red. One day when I corrected him again, I mentioned that Sponge Bob Square Pants that he really loved was yellow. He ran and got the Sponge Bob doll. He brought it back to me. “No! He’s RED!” he said as he shoved the yellow Sponge Bob towards me.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

