Joy Can Reason

My dog, Joy, can reason. I found this out this morning when I was giving her a pill. She has a skin infection again and hates taking medicine. I “hide” it in food. It’s supposed to be given with food, so first I feed her and then I hide her pill. For awhile Vienna Sausages were great for doing this, but then there was the time when she discovered the pill in one of them, and now she refuses to eat them. So I switched to hot dogs. This morning I had cooked just one hot dog – JUST FOR HER! – and she happily ate small bites. Then came the bite with the pill. She’d already started looking at me like something was amiss. When did I ever cook just one hot dog – just one hot dog just for her? Never. I watched as she began to try to softly chew the piece of hot dog and when she found the pill, she spit the whole thing out. Then she ate just the bite of hot dog.

Now I’m hiding it in donuts. I know they’re not good for her, but neither is not taking her medicine.  I’ll eat a bite or two of donut as she eats a bite or two (one with a pill in it). I wonder how long before she discovers donuts can hold a pill also?

Dogs are a LOT smarter than humans give them credit for being.

IMG_0125

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

