Joy Plays Fetch

I do not understand why our dog, Joy, loves to chase a ball so much. She will run energetically after one and then bring it back and drop it for me to throw again. Why didn’t she keep it when she had the thing?

I guess it’s the instinct of a dog to want to chase a running (moving?) object?

I remember one time in college being out with a friend for a bike ride. A dog ran out from someone’s yard and charged at us, alternating whose ankles he would snap at. My friend just pedaled faster. I stopped my bike, got off and stood still. “What are you doing” I asked the dog. He looked at me as if he didn’t remember and went back in his yard.

My cat Hunter is the same way. She will not run from a dog. She sits there and looks haughtily at any dog who threatens to chase her as if thinking, “Me? Run away from you? In your dreams.” When dogs get tired of her staring at them, they go back from whence they came.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

