Rabbit In the Yard

I took my old dog out for a walk today and she tried to run across the front yard. With me holding onto the leash, that was an impossibility. I saw a creature hopping away. It was a rabbit. I’ve seen them in the woods near our house, but never in my yard.

My son said he saw a huge turtle in the road last week when he was walking the younger dog. He said the dog was going crazy trying to tug on the leash to get to it.

It’s amazing what a little rain (or lack thereof) can cause.

I assume the turtle showed up during all that rain we had last week and the rabbit came looking for water when there was no rain for a couple days. It’s been hot. Very, very hot.

I read in a paper that if you put out a bowl of water, you could actually save the life of some wildlife in the summertime. Shortly after that I was shopping and saw a large dog dish on sale for less than a dollar. It now sets in my front yard with clean water in it daily. Maybe the rabbit was after that?

Or maybe the cat that lives across the street is friends with the rabbit? My dog goes on “high alert” (when the hair on her back stands up like a Mohawk) whenever she sees the neighbor’s cat. She does want to get to her so badly! Maybe the cat sent the rabbit to teach the dog a lesson, but I was there so the rabbit ran away?

No . . . it was the water dish. Glad it’s helping.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

