Life’s A Party, You Might As Well Play

I’ve always tried to have fun, whatever I was doing. Sometimes others (especially my children) are embarrassed by ways I amuse myself.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned in this blog my recent disability – it affects my legs and feet and sometimes (usually?) the way I walk. I have nerve damage.

I saw a Podiatrist and he suggested I buy a certain brand of shoe. I bought some pink ones and my son thought they were too “loud”. Well, the company sent me a sale form saying one of the other styles was almost half price. So I ordered a pair of those in blue. I got them a half size larger as well. I was trying them out today when my son noticed. He said they were “worse than the pink ones”. Well, that just goes to show he has no style.

We went to Wendy’s for lunch and I noticed the floor felt slippery. I assumed it was from my new shoes. I began to move my feet without lifting them. My son noticed and I laughed and said I could “skate in my new shoes”. There was a time he would have been embarrassed, but he just laughed with me and said they must have put a product on the floor because it felt slippery to him too.

I skated up to the counter and ordered. When my order was ready, my son grabbed it and said he’d carry it for me. I skated to the drink machine and got my drink. Then I skated to the table. (It was really the only way I could walk on that slippery floor without not being in danger of falling down.)

My son just chuckled and seemed amused. Finally! He’s joined the party, I thought. If life can’t be enjoyed . . . well, it’s better with a few laughs along the way.

Here are both shoes – one kind on each foot. I like them both. (I wore the blue ones to Wendy’s. I didn’t wear them like this. I just did this to take the picture and compare them.)

IMG_3416 (2)

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

