Is it THAT Difficult?

I’d like to ask my old dog one question – “How hard is it to keep your foot out of your food dish?”

She used to catch bits of food in the air when I’d toss them to her. Between cataracts and just plain old age clumsiness, she began not only missing the bites of food, but hitting them with her nose instead of her mouth and batting them all over the room,

So I moved her food dish over by me and decided I’d drop the bits of food in it instead of throwing them. The first time, she misunderstood what I was doing and in trying to catch the food that was not being tossed . . . she stepped into her food dish and still managed to hit the bite of food with her nose, tossing it into the bookcase, while the rest of her food flew up into the air and then landed randomly on the floor.

I picked up her food and put it back in her dish. Located the bite I had tried to give her and held it in my hand until she took it.

I sat back down to my growing cold food.

I took hold of her collar to hold her and show her what I was trying to do. She watched as I dropped a bite of food into her dish and then I let go of her collar and she ate that bite. You’d think “Mission Accomplished!” wouldn’t you?

No.

Now when I bring her food dish beside my chair when I’m eating, she gets so excited that she often lands both front feet into the dish as she jumps up to catch a bite that is no longer thrown, but is dropped gently into her dish.

I can’t decide if she is doing this on purpose or not. I think the solution will be to empty her food dish before I begin dropping bites of food – just a few while I eat and she sits begging for a bite – into her empty food dish. Somehow I think she will still bound feet first into it and probably turn it over in her exuberance.

My son thinks it’s hilarious when she makes her food bounce up into the air and all over the floor. It annoys me. Instead of one bite to search for, I have several . . . and she tries to help.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

