Cat Versus Dog

I have a cat who is in heart failure and a fairly young (four and a half years old) dog.

Since the cat started taking heart failure medicine, she sometimes thinks she’s a kitten again.

This dog and cat are never in the same room because I just don’t know what they’d do. Especially now that the vet said a dog should not frighten the cat, I do not trust putting them together, even briefly.

The dog, Joy, enjoys chasing balls and can bat them around like a soccer player. She loves, loves, loves her toy balls. She carries one in her mouth most of the time.

The cat, who has rediscovered her kittenhood, also likes the dog’s toy balls. When she’s out where they are, she bats them, chases them, tries to disembowel them and gnaws on them. She really enjoys knocking them down the hall where the dog can see her playing with them.

I don’t know who gets the most enjoyment out of these toys. I do know they both love to tease each other by playing with them right in front of the door where the other one can see, but not reach them.

Sometimes the dog will stick her front paws under the door and the cat, Hunter, will jump at them. Then there is playful growling and running away and I really wonder what these two would have been like if they’d been together when both were very young?

Hunter was almost ten years old when we got Joy, and Hunter was in no mood to befriend a rambunctious puppy. Joy loved and slobbered on everything back then, but not on Hunter. Hunter kept her distance like she was too good to associate with Joy.

Now they play, such as they can, with each other nightly. It’s amusing and entertaining to watch them.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

