Good Things Come From Bad

I have seen good things result from bad things happening. Something feels bad at the time. It can feel devastating. But with time, that bad event can lead to something good.

This morning I was on my carport and started to open the door to the house. There was a HUGE cricket at the bottom of the steps. He was hopping around like he was on some kind of amphetamine. Maybe he was a hyper-active cricket. I don’t know.

I just know I have never been fond of crickets and the last thing I wanted was for that huge thing to jump into the kitchen ahead of me.

I went over and got the rake and tried to shoo him. Oh, I shooed him all right. Right towards me and he was hopping higher than ever.

But he would not leave the steps.

I walked to the end of the carport and stood watching him. I was trying to figure out if I could sweep him back out, if he jumped into the house?

I noticed a bird standing in the dirt by the carport. It was turning its head and watching. Suddenly it solved the problem for me.

That turn of events caused me to write the following poem.

Lunch Outside

Cricket on the carport
Terrorizing me.
It didn’t know,
My friend, the bird, would see.

Chirp, chirp,
Crunch, Crunch,
Problem solved,
The bird had lunch.

by Constance Barr Corbett

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Things Come From Bad

  1. Stephanie says:

    This made me smile 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

