Ran Her Ragged

We have a dog named Joy and she is crazy about balls. She would chase them for hours, if I’d throw them that long.

Tonight she wanted to play and I threw the balls while she happily chased them down the hall and brought them back to me.

I think she must have been a goalie in a previous life because she can use her front paws to control a ball, much as soccer players do, and usually I cannot get a ball past her if I’m trying to kick it past her. I have to pick it up and throw it over her head, or she intercepts it.

Tonight she played so hard that she ended up lying down and taking a break voluntarily. I usually make her stop when we’re outside because I’ve seen her run herself ragged. She enjoys chasing balls so much she doesn’t realize how tired she’s getting.

Tonight it was me who didn’t realize how tired she was. She’s fine, but she sure was tired for awhile. She still begged me to throw the ball one more time, but tired is tired and she needed a break.

I’m going to record her playing with a ball and put it on one of these blogs. She’s really cute the way she chases them and rolls them with her feet. One got under a bush the other day and I told her I couldn’t get down to get it! She looked and me and then stuck her paw under the bush, scooped it out and rolled it to me. What a grin she has on her face when she’s playing.

IMG_2837 (2)

This was Christmas, 2014. She got a bag of new balls.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

