Oblivious

While walking the old dog the other day, a new neighbor’s dog charged towards us. It looked like a miniature pit bull. Knowing my dog enjoys barking at larger dogs, and not knowing what she says in these barks, but knowing it infuriates them, I yelled “HELP!” at the top of my lungs.

The new barking dog’s owner stepped off his porch into his yard and yelled for his dog to “COME BACK HERE RIGHT NOW!” His dog did not. It charged towards me and my old, deaf, nearly blind, nearly fifteen year old dog again, and it barked as if it meant business.

My dog weighs over thirty pounds, but she wasn’t as large as the charging dog. I have trouble picking her up. I have to do this when I take her in the car because she cannot jump up into the car any more due to her arthritis. She feels heavy to me. I was getting ready to try to pick her up when the new dog’s owner came closer in his bathrobe and DEMANDED that his dog return to their yard immediately!!!!

His dog turned and looked at him and reluctantly followed him home.

I glanced down at my dog to tell her what a close call THAT was! She was sniffing the air and looking generally unperturbed by the whole business. I don’t think she heard the other dog. If she had, I’d be writing a different story.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

