Joy and Her Calculations

One of my dogs is four years old. She is a mixed breed – some collie – and enjoys playing with balls. If I believed in reincarnation, I would think she was a soccer player in a previous life. She takes the balls and plays with more than one at the time. It’s not unusual to see her with one in her mouth while her paw bats another one around. I seem to be her “go-to person” for ball playing. Sometimes I take her outside and play fetch. We have to take two balls because she will not drop the first one she’s fetched until she sees another one I’m about to throw. Sometimes she’ll bring a ball to me when we’re inside and I’ll throw it down the hall just to watch her scamper after it. She is ingenious at finding ways to engage me in play. Today I was sitting on the futon folding clothes. She ran back and forth in front of me batting two balls with her paws while she carried one in her mouth. She kept slowing them down in front of me. Finally I stuck out a foot and kicked one of them harder than it was rolling. Oh, THAT was what she wanted! She ran to get it and batted it again with her paw so that it was rolling slowly when it got in front of me. I stuck out a foot and kicked it harder and away she went! We played this game until I got all the clothes folded up. She is quite remarkable at finding ways to engage me in play. She also will roll the ball so that it hits my foot when I’m washing dishes. I always kick it away and she joyfully runs after it just to roll it up against my heel again. I think she has me trained.

IMG_2837 (2)

This was Joy at Christmas with her bagful of balls gift.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

