No Laughing Matter

The North Carolina Department of Revenue is slow to open its mail. The form they needed to withdraw payments on what little bit I owed was not opened until almost the end of January. At that time, the NC Dept. of Revenue went ahead and took out the January payment. The very next day, they sent a letter of garnishment for the amount owed – with only one more payment owed – because they did not realize they had gotten the form and already taken out the monies. So I am being penalized for their failure to do their jobs in a timely manner. The form was mailed December 31, 2014. It took them almost a month to find the time to open the envelope. They fault me for not returning the form. It’s returned. They’ve acted on it.

I called their office and after twenty minutes of waiting, of course, had to be transferred. There was another twenty minutes of waiting while the person making me wait filed their nails, ran to the bathroom, or whatever else takes a simple minded person twenty minutes to do. The second person, after yelling at me before giving me a chance to explain my situation, finally ran out of steam and listened. She said if I could pay that final $100, she would cancel the garnishment. She pretended like she was going to take my information to make this happen and then she hung up on me. Cut off – after almost an hour of dealing with incompetent employees.

I notified my bank and their response was they are going to charge me $100 to garnish my wages. They see two payments have been made to the NC Dept of Revenue bandits, but still their hands are tied. What can they do? How about picking up the phone, sitting on hold and getting the matter straightened out? No. They want ME to take time off work to do this.

I am a school teacher. If you think you can be with a bunch of children and talk to a half-witted NC Dept of Revenue employee, come show me how to do it.

This is no laughing matter, but I’m sure the Dept. Of NC Revenue is laughing all the way to the bank – MY bank – and my bankers, whom I have entrusted with what little money I get paid are laughing with them.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

