Nothing much is funny . . . well, maybe this is . . .

I had a rough day Thursday. I tried to lay down and relax. My vet had just told me that my cat was in heart failure. He gave her some medicine and said to take her home to rest in a quiet place.

Just as I pulled up in front of my house, a nice looking man pulled up in front of the house next door. It’s been for sale for months. He waved at me, and I waved back. I wondered if he was my new neighbor? Had they finally sold that house?

I got the cat in and situated in her bed and laid down to rest a little myself. That’s when all that man’s friends arrived in their cars and trucks. I’ve never heard a noisier bunch. They had leaf blowers. They were banging ladders around. One of their truck alarms went off and it took five minutes before they bothered to turn it off. They hollered. The yard to that house is small and they could have whispered and heard each other, but they hollered about everything! Some really loud woman came up and hollered at all of them. Besides their noise, my youngest dog barked her head off every time she heard any of them.

I got no rest. Worse than no rest, I would doze off for about two minutes – I’m not exaggerating. There is a clock by my bed. I kept getting up to check the cat and she too was not doing much resting.

Finally it was time to take her back and I didn’t even look in my new neighbor’s direction. That wave was the first and only sign of friendship he will get from me. I hate a lot of noise and guess it means I now need to find a quieter place to move to.

The trip back to the vet with the sick cat was more stressful than the first visit. I think we were there almost two hours. When we got back, I hustled her into the warm house. By then the dog was asking to go out. I put her on a leash and headed outside. I stopped because I heard something falling and wondered how rain could sound so loud??? It wasn’t rain; it was sleet. I glanced over at my new neighbor’s house. Yep. He had painted all of the outside of it in his noisy manner. And now sleet was falling harder by the minute.

That made me smile.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

