Funny?

Is anything funny today? I feel like I have laughed and been happier lately than at other times in my life. “There’s a change coming.” Who said that? (goes to google and types in those words) Looks like it was Sam Cooke in a song lyric. How right he was! This body may be old and breaking down, but I am more comfortable in it than I’ve ever been in my life. I enjoy the days and marvel at how quickly they pass. Retirement from my career is on my mind. I do enjoy my work, but there is more I want to do with my life than work daily doing what I’ve done for years. I want to write. I want to entertain. I want to inform. Did you know writers write for three reasons? You can remember those three reasons by remembering PIE. (now THAT would be a good part of a day . . . a slice of pie with a cup of hot coffee . . . I may indulge in that sometime today . . . , but I digress) PIE stands for Persuade, Inform, Entertain. Those are the reasons writers write, as taught to our schoolchildren today. I have written for all of those reasons.
Would people value education more if they spent less time confined to a building being taught? How do you learn about anything? It’s by doing it. How do we learn and enjoy life, if we have no time to live, except for what is mapped out for us on a day by day basis? I’ve mentioned buying a tent and living in a state park for the rest of my life. People laugh, as if I’m kidding, but I’m very serious. I’d rather be outside any day of the year than confined inside a house. My middle son recently gave me his old station wagon since he’s bought a newer car. I mentioned to my oldest son that now I had a place to sleep as well as a way to get around without commandeering the one car we have. He just rolled his eyes at me. He’s got a new job and thinks the way to happiness is going to work day after day and earning money. Maybe that is the way for some people. For me . . . the way is to go on my way being surprised by things the day brings and using all five senses to enjoy them. Perhaps I’ve done PIE in this post? Persuade? Would you like to camp in a park instead of working daily? Inform? Well, I did tell you about PIE. Entertain? Meah . . . (is that how the young people spell it?) that’s up to you to decide.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

