Do They Even Know They’re Doing It?

Every time I go shopping and have enough time to stop and really look at a display, people begin to stop beside me and search the same things I noticed. No one was there when I stumbled upon something that caught my eye. People were passing it by, but I saw a color, a shape, an item that made me want to take a closer look. Suddenly I found myself in the midst of a crowd who had an urge to look at the same things I was handling and considering buying.

Do they even know they’re doing it? Have you ever experienced this? If you linger too long at a display the table or area will suddenly fill with shoppers surrounding you and actually getting in your way as you try to look over the items.

It happened again tonight. I was in the grocery store. I saw some sparkling flavored water. They were not on sale. In fact, they cost the most I’d ever seen them cost. Still, I have a root canal scheduled for next week and have been told it might hurt to chew that day, so I was trying to decide which of these flavored waters would taste the best . . . a woman suddenly stopped beside me. I had already picked out one flavor and was scanning the other bottles that were on the shelf. She picked up one just like the one I was holding and put it in her cart. Then she selected another one that she had to reach in front of me to get. I quickly found another flavor and put it in my cart. As I left, she left.

I have led people away from areas I want to really search in by stopping in front of a display until several of the shoppers have gathered around me. Then I quickly go to the place I really want to browse and get my items from there before the crowd finds me again.

Does this happen to other people as well? I’m a shopper magnet. One day when I’m bored, I’m going into a store and see if I can get a crowd to follow me from display to display. I think if I don’t wander too far from where they first gather, they might just do it.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

