Visions From On High?

When you’ve lived a long time, you can see train wrecks coming that you missed recognizing when you were young and on the train.

Viewpoints determine what is funny, what is scandalous, what is impossible.

I’ve never thought that anything was impossible, but still I’ve been shocked by some things that have happened.

Remember when Kennedy died? I think that was the first time I worried about our country. Over the years, I’ve worried about it more often. The worry the day Kennedy died was that I didn’t know what would happen next. I was very young and didn’t realize vice-presidents stepped in immediately and the country moved on and all was not lost.

Except a young vibrant leader fell that day and it was a painful lesson learned – that life can end so suddenly and without warning.

Sometimes I wonder if the way I feel about things is the same way others do. I hesitate to write anything that I find humorous tonight because perhaps it’s not humorous at all to someone else.

The funniest thing I’ve seen this week was the expression on my cat’s face as she stared through the screen into the back yard. She looked so startled and concerned that I imagined a snake must be headed for her open window (except it did have  a screen), and I wondered how close to the house it was. I was amused to see that it was a raccoon. There he was lumbering around in the kudzu that my son tackles from time to time. I realized my son had joined us at the window when he asked what we two were staring at. “It’s a RACCOON in the KUDZU!” he exclaimed. Yeah, we knew. That cat didn’t take her eyes off the thing until it had disappeared from view. It was headed to the restaurant that’s nearby the last time I saw it.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

