Old Dogs

Old dogs will break your heart . . . still they do the silliest things and you can’t help but laugh at them.

I had one old dog who would go to the closet door and bark at it because he wanted to go outside. My kids didn’t understand his confusion. He thought he was at the door to the deck.

The old dog I have right now has become stubborn. I hooked the leash to her collar yesterday to go for a walk with her. She immediately laid down and looked at me as if to say, “I don’t think so.”

I have an old cat too and she MEOWS! loudly if I forget to turn her light on at night. I heard she meowed the same way today when she got her toenail caught in the screen on the window she loves to sit and look out of. She MEOWS loudly until she gets what she wants. She’s becoming demanding too.

A couple days ago I took the old dog out for a walk. My son came jogging by and she began to run beside him and whined and whined when he didn’t take the leash and take her with him. She wouldn’t have lasted long at that pace. As it was, she made me let her totter all the way to the end of the block to see where he went. I thought I was going to have to carry her back home.

She’s fiesty now too. She tried to pick a fight with a Rottweiler while we were outside.

Old dogs don’t behave. Maybe they realize they’ve got a permanent place in your heart and they don’t have to.

 

 

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

