Animal Communication – What are you saying, Kitty Cat?

While humans try to communicate with animals, I believe the animals try just as hard to communicate with us.

I’ve written about my cat, Hunter, who had surgery May 30. She recuperated well, but recently has begun doing strange things and acting upset.

Her most recent action was to sit behind a curtain and have it pulled tightly around her face (it was a sheer) and she’d be staring through it when I went in her room. I should have taken a picture. She did it three days straight. That was the meekest thing she did.

She also decided to pee on everything I gave her to lie on. She seemed to miss her litter box completely when she’d poop. It would fall beside the box, but not in it.

She’d sit and stare at me when she was in other parts of the house as if she were trying to communicate something to me telepathically. She made me start wondering what had changed? What had her so upset?

I got out baby wipes and wiped her down gently to help her groom herself because she was neglecting that. I cleaned out her unused litterbox and placed it closer to where she sat. I spent more time with her petting and observing her.

Finally it hit me! (as if she hadn’t been trying to tell me all along). The window! It was the window! All summer she’s had the window in her room up in the daytime. She sits on the desk under that window and looks out at the birds in the yard. She watches the small restaurant activity in a parking lot across the way. Sometimes she just sniffs the wind passing by and seems to enjoy the fresh air. I had been keeping the window down recently because of a heat wave and then severe weather we’d had.

This morning I took the curtains, which had been hanging down and pulled them back around the pole I’d gathered them to when I’d put up her window in the past. I raised the window as high as it would go.

Just now I went in to see if she wanted to come out in the main part of the house with me – the dogs were occupied elsewhere. She glanced at me when I entered and then turned to look out the window and ignored me. I could tell by the used litter box and the eaten food that things were better with her today. It only took her three days to explain the problem to me.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

