Fool Me Once . . .

And you can probably fool me again.

I took the old black dog for a walk today. She stumbled a couple times. She would walk a few steps and stop (to rest?). I got very depressed watching how slowly she walked to the end of the block. We no longer attempt to go all the way around the block because she stumbled five times the last time we did, and I’m not sure I could pick her up and carry her home, if she fell and couldn’t get up.

So we headed back home from the corner and she saw my son coming out with our other dog – the dog I got to bring Blackie out of the depression where she’d been for weeks after her mother died. She was so used to having another dog in the house that I thought maybe a new dog to pal around with would cheer her up. Eventually it did . . .

So today as we headed back home, Blackie saw Joy (the new other dog, or was new to her a few years ago) headed her way and Blackie suddenly got a spring in her step that I hadn’t seen in awhile.

She will probably fool me again tomorrow when we walk, for she does love to walk as slowly as possible and I let her. She stops to smell everything, and I let her. She often has me convinced it may be her last walk, and I let her.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in fool me, old dog, walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

