Blind, Old, Arthritic Dog Taken For a Ride to Taco Bell’s

I won’t do that again. I was craving a taco so I thought I’d drive down to Taco Bell’s to get one (three). I decided the old dog hadn’t been for a ride in awhile, so why not take her? First of all, she had trouble getting into the car. She flattened herself against the side of the driver’s seat as she tried to lunge in. I helped her. Then as I was backing the car out of the driveway, she decided it was a good idea to leap from the front of the car to the back and then back to the front, etc. She did this repeatedly as I tried to steer the car back out of the driveway and onto the street. She was no better at it than she’d been at getting into the car in the first place. Once I was on the road, she moved to the console that is between the two front bucket seats. She likes to stand on it and look out the windshield. She was shivering very hard and I couldn’t decide if she was cold, excited, or worn out from her repeated, attempted leaps to the back and back to the front of the car. I continued to drive. When I’d turn a corner, I’d slip a finger under her collar to hold her steady. All was well until she decided to jump into the back seat again while my finger was trapped under her collar. We got to Taco Bell’s and for some reason when I rolled down the window to order, she thought it was time to get out and that the way to do that was through the open window. I had to repeat my order six times for the cashier and I did so while trying to keep the old, blind dog in the car. We finally got to the pick-up window and the dog was back on the console looking harmless enough. She sniffed at the bag of tacos as I passed them in front of her and onto the passenger front seat. As I waited for hot sauce, the dog decided to leap into the back seat and try to go out the open window again. She struggled to get past my head and headrest to the opening. I got the hot sauce, put up the window and drove us home. She got out of the car at home as she usually does by trying to exit the car from the back seat, but through the front door. I hope she enjoyed her trip. She won’t get another one any time soon.

Blackie and Mama

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

