Something I’ve Thought About

Life Insurance. I get cards and letters almost daily wanting me to buy life insurance. Do the senders know something I don’t know?

When you reach a certain age, you enter into a mailing list that causes companies to remind you that you are mortal and you will die and you will cost your loved ones a lot of money when that happens. What a financial inconvenience you will be! So state the cards and letters that arrive in the mailbox.

Hey . . . I dated an undertaker a few times. I know about the $200 cheap coffins in the back of the shop. I know coffins can be “rented” much more cheaply than they can be bought (if loved ones want to lay you out to be viewed). I know it’s foolish to buy an expensive coffin to burn up in a crematorium. I’ve told my three sons. They can do what they will, but they will be responsible for paying for it, if I don’t have the money for it when I die. I’ve been the recipient of life insurance money. You don’t get much left over after you pay for the funeral, etc. What I had left over from my mother’s life insurance went to pay her medical bills. And I’ve often wondered, if we are the land of the free and a great country, why can’t people save up to bury a loved one? Some policies I’ve seen are for $2,000. Really? In America a family cannot save $2000, but we are the greatest country in the world?

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

