Whisper Bark

At one time I had two dogs. One was named Magic and she would bark loudly and seriously if anyone or anything was in my yard or close to my house. I trusted her. She was my best friend.

Magic had a puppy who was almost solid black. I named her Blackie. Blackie was often referred to as “the other dog” because she followed Magic’s lead. Except when it came to barking. Oh, she would bark, if Magic did, but if she heard something Magic did not seem to hear, Blackie would crawl under the bed and do what I referred to as “whisper bark”. She would “woof, woof” barely loudly enough to be heard. It was a whisper barking as if she hoped someone would handle the fear she felt, without anyone knowing she was aware of whatever had caused her to go under the bed and hide.

My son kept both dogs one weekend when I went out of town. When I returned and asked how everything went, he said Magic made him feel safe since she only barked when someone would pass the house, but Blackie freaked him out by crawling under the bed and barking softly from time to time. He had no idea what she’d heard and he could never find anything.

Magic has crossed the Rainbow Bridge, but Blackie is still with me. She still hides and whisper barks. The dog I got to help her out of her grief stricken state when Magic passed away will also go under the bed when Blackie begins to hide and whisper bark. I didn’t think it could get any worse, but obviously it could. Now I have two dogs who hide when scared and only one of them is brave enough to bark, and she whispers when she does.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whisper Bark

  1. Stephanie says:

    This sounds a bit like my two dogs. Our older one barks when he hears something, and the younger one only barks if she hears him barking. One barks because he is alert, the other because she is fearful. The problem is, once the stimuli causing the barking has ceased, our fearful younger dog never knows how to stop, because she has no idea what the reason for barking was in the first place. And when we shush her she will put her head down and “whisper bark”, with a face that says “I’m frightened here and none of you care.” Isn’t it interesting how dogs influence each other in different ways? ^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

