Should Have Had Some Vinegar In It

I have started sitting with Hunter when she eats for various reasons. This morning I was out with her and she was enjoying her breakfast. The weather was beautiful and I was glad to be outside.

Then I noticed one of the neighbor’s black cats coming across the street. When we first moved in. Hunter would fight with the neighbor’s cat when it came into my yard. Hunter was trying to establish her territory, and the black cat seemed to think our yard was her yard. I didn’t realize it was not one black cat, but two, who were coming over and fighting with Hunter. I found this out weeks later.

I thought it was harmless hissing and squabbles until I went out one morning and Hunter looked like this:

 

Image

It took a couple trips to the vet and a vet bill of $400 to fix her. I was furious. I went out and bought a squirt gun – a child’s toy gun that holds water – and vowed to spray the neighbor’s cat heavily if it came over again. About this same time, the weather began getting cold and I brought Hunter inside.

Hunter does not do well inside. She’s happy and usually healthy outside, but once in, she begins to have diarrhea and vomiting episodes. My sons have said she does it on purpose because she’s mad. I think she’s stressed. I think, like me, she’s a little claustrophobic (or maybe she’s a lot) and being cooped up inside is too hard on her.

At any rate, she’s back outside and has been since springtime. She seems to be doing well. But this morning, the sight of that cat creeping over to my yard (after crossing the street to get there) was too much! I remembered the squirt gun and went in and got it. I filled it up and as that cat crept closer and closer to Hunter and Hunter’s food dish, I aimed the water gun at the black cat and squirted!

Oh! The indignation that black cat displayed! She looked at me like she could not believe I was shooting water at her. She continued to creep closer. On the third squirt, she decided she didn’t want Hunter’s food that badly and turned and went back home.

I should have put some vinegar in the water gun. If there’s a next time, I will. I can only be glad that Hunter was so hungry that she was oblivious to the cat’s approach.

I was not oblivious, and neither were the two mockingbirds that tormented that black cat a few days ago. They began squawking and flying around and no doubt, planning to dive bomb her as I’d watched them do day before yesterday.

Wherever that cat goes, she seems to  bring out the worst in creatures. She needs to stay out of my yard.

Image

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

