Tricks Done Differently By An Old Dog

Blackie is 13 years old. She’s my dog. She has taught herself tricks over her lifetime. One of them is to catch food in the air. I throw it, she catches it. She seems to enjoy doing this.

Now that she’s older, her eyesight isn’t as keen. This morning as I ate bacon and eggs, she sat near me waiting for a toss. There it went – a bite of egg flying through the air, headed for her open mouth and she tilted her head just a bit, and blam! the egg hit the floor after it bounced off Blackie’s nose. Great. Before she could get it, our new, younger dog, Joy, who is almost three years old, said not to worry! as she lunged for the bit of egg and gobbled it up. Blackie sat there looking gleeful and thinking, “Throw me another one!” I did and she delighted Joy again by batting it with her nose to another part of the floor. I’m not usually a slow learner, but the third time I dropped it delicately into Blackie’s mouth. “You and Joy need to quit conspiring against me, ” I said, as Blackie sat there enjoying her bite of egg and wagging her tail.

Blackie and Joy

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

