Magic and the Windshield Wipers

Magic was a wonderful dog I had for twelve glorious years. She had enough personality for three dogs. She also had a puppy that I kept who is named Blackie.

This morning Blackie and I got in the car to drive to Bojangles for breakfast. It was a special treat for Blackie as she loves to “go for a ride in the car” (just ask her if she wants to . . . you’ll see!). So as we turned onto the highway, the rain began. I turned on the windshield wipers and then glanced at her for her reaction. Nothing.

But I did think I caught a shadow of Magic as she lunged towards the wipers like she used to do. Boy, did she hate windshield wipers!! She’d jump at them as they swiped the windshield and bite at them  as she tried to stop them. I could not make her understand that they were helping me see while her trying to catch and bite them was not.

Memories. It’s what us old folks are laughing at when you young folks wonder if we’re losing our minds.

We can also see ghosts now sometimes. Magic’s ghost entertained me as I drove to Bojangles. At least I can see through her now.

Magic

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

