Can You Hear Me Now?

The lack of others listening has been on my mind the last few days. It seems that everywhere I turn no one listens to anyone else. I don’t mean as in not listening to advice; I mean as in not even taking into their minds (ears) what someone else is saying to them.

I’ve mentioned the waiter and the cashiers in my other two blogs. Now let me talk about the motel desk clerk who was totally clueless last night because she was not listening.

I made a reservation for last night when I intended to make one for tomorrow night. The motel  website said any reservation not canceled by 6:00 pm would be charged. Well, I made the reservation at 8:00 pm and one minute later, realizing my mistake, I canceled it and redid my reservation order for the right night. I decided to call the motel to be sure I wasn’t charged for the first reservation that was canceled a minute after being made.

The desk clerk seemed very incompetent, or perhaps she just wasn’t listening. She said I needed to talk to Price Line. Who are they? I asked her. She repeated that I’d have to talk to Price Line to find out the answer to my question.

It turns out that Price Line is an online website that handles reservations. I had not used them. I did not even know what she was talking about until I hung up in frustration and spoke to my oldest son about it. (He does usually listen.) He called the desk clerk to try to clarify my request. She was so confusing to him that he hung up on her. Eventually she called back on my phone. At that point, she was trying to transfer him from her cell phone to her manager in the hotel. She did not understand why it was not working.

He ended up hanging up again. He said he would have explained it to her, if she had only listened. You cannot ring an extension in a motel using your personal cell phone. You need to use the motel phone.

He ended up sending an email to the corporate headquarters for that motel. I don’t know if they listen either. I assume we’ll find out.

People ask why I’m so quiet sometimes. What difference does it make? No one listens anymore.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

