Emotions

We all laugh and cry at some things. I saw both yesterday.

It was the last day of school. A line of children were walking down the hallway to the bus area, and one of them who knew me, stopped the line and grabbed me with tears streaming down her face. She looked up at me as she hugged me and said, “I’m going to miss you.” Well, I was going to miss her too and told her so, but summer is shorter than we think it will be, and the bus was waiting.

Shortly after that I was in the school office and a child came in with four cupcakes. Her mother, who works in the building, had come with her to offer them to the office staff. The principal took the first one. Then the little girl opened the container again and swirled her finger in the frosting of one of the cupcakes. As she licked it, she said, “The blue one is delicious!” She held out the container for someone else to take one, and we all just stood there in slight shock. The principal looked at hers and said it looked untouched, but she had noticed some of the other cupcakes looked like someone had run a finger across them. Suddenly the little girl swirled her finger through the frosting on the white cupcake. “The white one is delicious too!” she announced with a grin. “And so is the pink one!” she said, as she swirled her finger through its frosting and licked it off.

This child is six years old and a delightful person. I always enjoy being around her cheerful, happy self. She was doubly funny yesterday, a day that was tinged with sadness. I hope her mother, who stood there looking mortified, realizes the spirit she was in and how much more her actions meant than any cupcake we could have eaten. She had the whole office laughing as we politely told her “No thank you.” when she held out the cupcakes.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

