I TOLD You They Could Talk

My sons have told me all their lives that my pets can’t talk to me. They say it’s nice to know I think the pets can talk, but they really can’t.

Recently I’ve watched my female cat teaching my oldest son how to tell what she wants. He came to me this past weekend and said the cat – Hunter – had jumped down from the table onto the floor and walked to the door. Then she looked at him. She did it a couple more times and he said and it seemed like she was asking to go out. (she was) He said the third time she seemed to be saying, “open the door, stupid” when she went one more time to the door and turned and looked at him. (She probably was. She’s an arrogant cat with little regard for others.)

Now that she’s finally trained him when to let her out, give her fresh food and wash and refill her water dish, she’s beginning the plaintive meows that each mean a different thing. Today I heard her loud, annoying meow which means, “someone come rescue me! now!”. We’d had a storm and a couple times my son had gone out on the porch looking for her. He said he guessed she was hunkered down somewhere? See – like a smart girlfriend, she has him thinking about her even when they’re not together. I just answered, “probably is”.

But when I heard that meow that I know means “Rescue me. Now!” I went looking for her. She had gotten behind some doors that were propped up on the side of the carport. The carport itself had standing water from the storm. She watched me as I waded through the mess and got close to her. She allowed me to pick her up. As soon as we got where the water was no longer standing, she began swinging her front paws as if to jump down, IF I’d only let her go. I did, and she did. I watched her walk up the semi-dry ramp to the front door. She turned and looked at me and I opened it and she went inside the dry house.

When I went back to the kitchen, my son asked if I’d fed her. Not yet. I smiled as he got a can of cat food and opened it and took it to her. She hasn’t started meowing that sweet meow she does when she says “thank you”. He’ll hear it eventually.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

