Board Games/Having Fun

I worked all day long. I proctored a test that took hours to be completed. That alone is exhausting! Then I taught several groups of children. The heat was oppressive. It was so bad that recess was modified and no one went outside after 12 noon.

I went out during bus duty this afternoon to take my group of children to the bus. It was hot. The newly mowed grass smelled strong and it battled with the heat as to which would be worse for my asthma. I walked on to my car. I left the doors open a few minutes. It was like an oven in there. I could have cooked my dinner while I worked, if I’d known it was going to be that hot in the car.

Then I got in and started it. Turned on the AC. Oh, no! Not today! Don’t refuse to work today. It did . . . refuse to work. I drove all the way home in the heat with the windows down and not caring how much my hair was blowing. I was going to stop somewhere on my way home, but could not breathe well enough. I used my inhaler as soon as I got in the car. Since I’ve been home, I’ve taken a couple other things for my lungs.

My youngest son came in wanting to play a board game. Not tonight. It’s all I can do to stay upright. I will be going to bed early. His disappointed face threw me on a guilt trip. But I cannot concentrate when I’ve had a day like this. My ankles are hurting badly. They always swell and ache when I’m this tired and this hot and stressed by the day.

I hate disappointing people, but the weather today has disappointed me and I need to relax tonight and do as little as possible.

Does anyone understand?

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

