Children

Children have fresh eyes and fresh views and should be listened to, if for no other reason than that they are entertaining.

I still mimic the mis-spoken words said by my son years ago when he was learning to talk. At times he would run to the front door saying loudly, “Sour Cream! Sour Cream!” For awhile, silly me, would ask if he wanted some sour cream? What was he talking about? One day I decided to imitate him and ran behind him yelling the same words. I flung open the front door and through the storm door, I could hear sirens. Oh. Then it made sense.

His other funny thing, at least to his mother, was his delight in monkey-roni-and-cheese that he would ask for. How can you not give a child macaroni and cheese when he asks for it so nicely?

Old Atlas, the dog I had when my children were born, became “Atsee” in my youngest one’s voice, but the dog came happily, even if his name was mispronounced.

At the time I was a mother trying to raise three sons, I focused on right and wrong and encouragement and correction . . . now I see children as entertaining beings who are wonderfully fresh and refreshing. They never tire of showing someone how to use a computer or where the bird nest is, or whatever else they have discovered. Their fresh views of the world is needed.

If you’re lucky enough to spend time with children, enjoy them. They are, after all, God’s opinion that the world should go on.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

