Hunter

Post about Hunter again. My cat. Disappeared today.

I came home. Saw Spot (other cat) on the porch. Where was Hunter? Food hadn’t been touched. She cleans the plate when she can have a picnic outside.
I asked my son what time the cat food got put out? It looked old, but maybe . . .
9:00 am, he said.
Why didn’t Hunter eat it?
He didn’t know.
No one knew where she was.
I went out.
I called.
I looked.
I worried.
My son cooked dinner. I ate.
Went back out, calling and worrying. Brought Spot inside.
Went in the backyard to search for her.
Finally I got the Armor All stuff and went out to clean the car. I get a lot of nervous energy when I’m worried.
Saw the same piece of plastic across the street that I saw earlier when I searched for her. Walked down the driveway to be SURE it wasn’t her. No. There she was by the trashcan.
What??? So I walked over. I had on flip flops and she was on a hill. I tried and tried to get her without falling down. She just laid there. That’s not Hunter’s normal behavior. Don’t touch her! Don’t TRY to pick her up. She swings with her claws out. She runs. But she just laid there and looked so weak. Had she been hit by a car?
I finally got hold of her, but had to put her back down before I could get all the way up the hill. Took me forever! but I finally got on the ramp (handicapped ramp at this house) with her. There you go – she began to swing her paws at me, but half-heartedly. Her tongue was sticking out and it was black on the tip. Her gums looked pale. I brought her in. My son came to check her. She doesn’t let him touch her, but she let him move her around and look in her mouth.
Eventually she began to move around and stretch. My son said she might have gotten too hot. I said maybe she’d gone to the Restaurant, which is behind our house, and got trapped in a dumpster? Her breath smelled like fish.
I don’t know. I’m just glad I found her. I told her not to even ask about going out anymore today because the answer is NO. If she wasn’t such a difficult cat, I’d keep her inside.  I can only take so much, and then I let her go out. It’s like she gets claustrophobia or something when she’s inside. She thrives in the sunshine.  I was so worried.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

