A Beautiful Week

I have been off work this week and the weather has been gorgeous.

I’ve done one tenth of the things I hoped to do, but I have enjoyed my freedom and delighted in all the free time.

I gave my son a coin sorter for Christmas last year. He didn’t like it and said he didn’t plan to use it, so I took it back. (since when is it ok to admit not liking a gift? even if it is from your own mother?) Last night I took it out and my other son and I put batteries in it and I dropped a handful of coins into the contraption, and it sorted them all by itself. It was so much fun that I got my purse and scraped out the loose change in the bottom of it and dropped those coins in too. They were rapidly sorted.

I’ve put in every coin I can find in the house into it. How could someone not enjoy something so entertaining?

Young people today do not know the simple joys that delight older ones. They also don’t know the joy of being unreachable before the invention of the cell phone.

We can try to tell them, but they won’t listen. He needn’t come home and see what a delight the thing truly is. He can’t have it back.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

