Help People

I keep getting messages in my inbox on my personal email that tell me how I can learn to do this, that or the other and how it will “help people”. That’s why I went into my current profession, well, the day job I do while I work on getting this writing gig going. I wanted “to help people”.

I’ve no doubt I helped some while failing to help others, but my heart was always in the right place. I saw myself as a servant of God who was going through life helping others. I even had three children and tried my best to help them through their lives. Anyone who has been a single parent to three sons knows the trials and tribulations I probably faced. What one couldn’t think of to do to make life interesting, one of the other ones did!

Help people? Well, I’m a people. Plenty of others have helped me, and I’ve greatly appreciated it. I believe I’m the only one who didn’t actively seek to help me. If I had a goal, it was usually to improve enough to be more help to others.

I hear and see selfishness in some other people. I believe it’s called self-interest. Makes me wonder how it would be to be so self-interested?

The schools that keep sending me emails wanting me to become a counselor! a nurse! a teacher! so that I can “help others” need to stop. I looked in the mirror this morning and saw someone I decided to help.

Being my age gives you “freedom! freedom! freedom!” All the young people who feel sad for me because I am so old need to be let in on the secret. I can do whatever I want to do and my age excuses me! I love being this age! I haven’t felt as free since I was a child. Nor have I felt as selfish. I’m going to see what that’s all about, since I already know what a lifetime of helping others is about.

So if I do something that helps you, don’t be so appreciative. It will be a by-product of my new self-interest. This new outlook on life will be fun!

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

