Alfred Hitchcock

When I was a girl, I would watch TV with my grandmother. One of the shows we’d watch was “Alfred Hitchcock Presents”. This program consisted of various short stories about interesting twists of events.

I’ve rediscovered these episodes on hulu.com, which is a site that lets me watch TV shows and movies. They’re much cheaper than cable, and I thought I’d use them until I watched all they had to offer. I’ve been here ten months and still haven’t seen everything I’d like to see on hulu.

These episodes remind me of the more innocent time when adult things were exactly that. The one I just watched was about a philandering husband. More than likely, this was one where my grandmother would announce that I might not be able to watch this one with her, but as I watched it just now, I noticed the lack of adult activities and the use of the larger words that conveyed the intent and situation without divulging the exact meaning to anyone watching, who was too young to understand.

The married couple had twin beds, which I remember now was usual for married couples on TV when things were in black and white and sex was not marketable on the air.

I don’t know how my grandmother tolerated all my questions as we watched TV together. I do know it is one of my most pleasant memories – sitting beside her on the couch as she would explain things that sometimes baffled me. Questions like, “What is a philandering husband” were answered with “Wait and see.” And I did wait and sort of saw.

But I never saw the things that young kids now hear and see in everyday lives. The innocent time of childhood passes quickly in these times. I know I show my age when I extol the virtues of the good old days, but I do wish we could return to simpler times for children. Oh, well, for now there is Alfred Hitchcock and the awesome way he presents some of the most delicate topics without offending anyone.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

