Simple Pleasures

Happiness and Contentment are two mental states I seek on a daily basis. They haven’t been around much for the last few days as I’ve battled an illness that has made me very disgruntled and anxious. 

I’m tired of taking pills; I’m tired of being sick; I’m tired of missing work. I do love my current job and every day I’m out sick is another missed chance for happiness and contentment.

I’ve felt too bad to be grouchy. I’ve felt too bad to complain. I’ve felt at the mercy of the bacteria that invaded my body, set up shop and sold condos to all his relatives.

I have been neither happy nor content for the last several days. I moved from my bed to my computer chair, back to my bed. 

I don’t remember much of what I’ve eaten over the past five or six days. There was half a can of chicken soup I had. Some crackers. Water to wash down the endless supply of pills I felt like I was taking. There were so many pills prescribed that I had to type them on a document on my computer daily to keep up with when I took what. Of course nothing was taken at the same intervals to make it easier.

They say you don’t appreciate your health until you lose it.

But today I fixed a couple eggs for breakfast. I had half of someone’s sub that I found in the fridge for lunch. I helped my son fix home-made vegetable beef soup for my dinner. (By “helped” I mean I told him when he was about to do something wrong while fixing it. I know he’s glad I’m finally out of my sick bed and in the kitchen helping him be the perfect chef. :))

My bed is going to have clean, fresh sheets on it tonight. The soup was excellent. I plan to go back to work tomorrow. Happiness and contentment.

Posting a picture of my Chef Son Below:

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

