This Day

This was sort of a non-day.

I’ve begun taking stock of each day. I’m well aware of my mortality and tend to reflect on the value of each day I live through. Was it special? What happened that made it different or worthwhile? What would I have changed?

Today I would never have gotten into the car and driven towards work. I have been sick. Perhaps sicker than I realized. The doctor sees a possibility (probability) that I will not be well enough tomorrow to work. But today I got up, showered, got dressed and got in the car. I did not make it in. After 6 or so miles of driving, I was overwhelmed with nausea and had to turn the car around and go back home.

I’m terrible about not taking prescribed medicine. I did not take the nausea medicine because it makes me feel “funny” and I’m not sure I can work if I take it. Well, I proved this morning I can’t work if I don’t take it either.

So I came back home and took the pill for nausea and as expected it made me end up lying down and off to sleep I went.

The dog was glad to see me back so soon. The doctor said perhaps I should stay home tomorrow. Perhaps I should. I just hate to miss work, but getting halfway there and having to turn around and come back home didn’t work out too well today.

I get angry and frustrated when I’m sick. I have things to do.

I’m going to take this medicine and get well and have another one of those days when many things go right, and I feel like I’ve made a difference in the world that day.

I apologize for being so self-indulgent in this post. I want to post every day. All I’ve done today is try to go to work, get sick, take medicine and sleep.

Oh, and be comforted by my little dog who was overjoyed that for some reason I had come back home sooner than expected.

If you don’t have a pet and you want to be loved unconditionally, go to the animal shelter. Someone there will be overjoyed to see you.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

