Samples

I hope to publish a book before the year is over. It will be a book of poetry, and I can hear you groan, you know? My poetry is not the flowery type that makes you wonder what I’m talking about. My poetry – and several have been published in magazines – tell little stories. They rhyme. I am going to post the beginnings of some of them here.

Old Atlas 

He’s not much use as a watchdog;

I sneak up on him every day.

And sometimes I see him trip

On a toy that’s been left in his way

(more stanzas – published in Grit Newspaper)

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

Laments of an Old Cat

Just what this old cat

Very much wants to know

Is when will the baby

Be big enough to go? 

(Published in Cats Magazine and also in The Morris Report Magazine) long poem

*     *     *     *     *     *

Slumberlost

I saw a demon go into my room

Tonight just ahead of me

“I’m not going to have that nightmare” I said,

As the demon crept where I could not see.

(Published in 2 am magazine) several more stanzas

*     *     *     *     *     *

The Yorkie’s Tale

Honey’s always after

Anything smaller than she.

That’s how I was alerted

When she came up to me,

(Published in Sleuthhound Magazine) several more stanzas.

So the thing to do is get them all together – ALL stanzas of all of them – and either find a publisher or self-publish. There are other poems that I’ve written. Some have been published, and some have not, but that should be enough sampling for now. They were all written by Constance Barr Corbett, and they are copyrighted.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

