Disappointments

Instead of trying to be funny, I’m just chronicling my course through the final years of my life. No, I am not terminally ill, that I know of, but once you get old enough to consider going ahead and getting social security, even though you’re not at the full age of getting it . . . I can get reduced benefits . . . starting soon . . ., you realize the light in the tunnel is beginning to be blown out by the wind headed your way. You begin to reflect on the past and realize how much wisdom you have achieved.

Like the car I was planning to buy next week. A young man who is friends with my son – one of my sons –  I have three, anyway, the young man was going to sell me a car fairly cheaply. It is a fairly old car, but all I need is something that can go a few miles a day – less than 100 miles a week. He just sent me an email. The sale is off for a few weeks. His dad needs to use the car . . . long story . . .

Disappointment. But if you live to be old enough to even consider getting social security, you’ve already had your share of disappointments. You know that anything special will have at least one snag as it happens. Nothing ever goes completely right. You make your plans with one ear listening for the other shoe to drop. And it usually (always?) does.

Well, KaBOOM! I won’t be buying his car next week. He said it might be a month or two before he can sell it. Well. I guess it’s a good thing I continued to search even after I thought I had found one. I’ll keep looking and if we both are lucky, I’ll buy his in a few more weeks. Otherwise, he may experience a little disappointment himself.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

