Mental Garbage Truck

Do you ever wish you could unload some of the garbage that is floating around in your brain? I do. I’ve also begun to be selective in what I let into my brain as well. Links that promise to serve up juicy tidbits of someone else’s life are passed by now. Just this morning I had the opportunity to hear the 911 call a man in Florida made after speaking with his father on the phone. His father had just admitted to stabbing his mother to death and putting her on ice. What???? I bet that was a highly emotionally charged phone call!! – the 911 call that the son made after hearing his mother had been stabbed. And there was a link! I could click on it and listen to the real thing! As my cursor hovered over the link, I realized that, although I am not working today and have plenty of time for the drama of the internet, I do not want that noise in my head. Do you know how much other similar noise is already in there?? If only I could put it all in a trash bag and tie it up nice and neat and then leave it by the mind’s curb for the mental garbage truck to pick up.

No can do.

So until I can get some of this garbage that is already floating around  my brain to go somewhere else, I am going to be more selective what I put in it. The place is already full! Tomorrow is my birthday. Do you know how many years I have collected this kind of stuff? Some was collected in person. Others came into my mind via radio and television. Now I find with the internet I can store, store, store the junk for eternity!

But I don’t want it any more. I don’t want any more of it. As I approach the twilight of my life, I long for lollipops and rainbows, puppy dogs and kittens . . . anything that is pleasant and not a big drain on my emotions and nerves.

When the mental garbage truck gets invented, send it my way. I’ll have a bagful of trash for it. I just wish I could keep it tied up nice and neat.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

