NaNoWrimo

I am participating in NaNoWrimo for the first time this year. I’m finding that the daily writing requirement of 1667 words is easy to meet. As friends that I email can tell you, I can go on forever once I get started writing. It’s not always clever and it’s not always great, but I can churn out 1667 words with no problem.
This has come as a surprise to me. I have two books partially done and haven’t finished them because frankly, I didn’t think I had time.
Now I find myself unemployed with nothing but time, and taking this challenge has shown me that yes, I can write and write a lot of words daily. Look at this. I’ve even come here to blog knowing that I have 789 more words to write on my novel to meet my daily quota. Guess I got ahead?
My novel is about a girl who grows up in a rooming house. That would be me. Those of you who know me from back then know that’s where I lived. Mama owned the rooming house, and I lived in it. I am including things that happened and embellishing some of them. I am making up other things. Yes, those of you who shared my childhood will be in the novel in one form or another. Yes, I will probably tell things that happened. I also will tell things that did not happen. This is a work of fiction (wink, wink). How good is your memory?

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

