NC State Fair

I would like to go to the fair and view it through the eyes of a senior citizen, which is how some places now classify me. What is there to do for someone who may think s/he’s “too old” to go to the fair? I hope to see George Jones in concert this year. I’d like to see if there are any gentle rides I’d enjoy. I would like to find out what happens if someone older gets in the fair and then becomes very tired. What accommodations are there? I know what happens when a child is lost, and thank you very much for finding him! Even after all these years, I remember the terror of losing a young child at the fair.
I’m writing this blog in hopes of being chosen as a Deep Fried Ambassador to the Fair this year. I saw an ad online for blog writers to audition with a blog about the NC State Fair. If chosen, I would go every day and take pictures with my digital camera and write captions and anecdotes about all I see and do. I would be a representative of the Baby Boomer generation. Lord knows there’s enough of us to keep the fair hopping for a long, long time.
The most memorable time I went to the State Fair, my three children were much younger and I was able to unload us all right at the front of the fair. In making a U Turn to go back because I passed the entrance the first time, I had a wreck, which totaled my car. I swear nothing was coming when I looked. I was probably right because according to the police report, the truck that hit us was going 115 mph. His excuse was that he was late to a class. I assume it wasn’t on safe driving. But anyway, the policeman offered to drive us where we wanted to go. Well, looking at my children who had talked about nothing but the fair all week, and knowing I would not have a way to get them to it if we didn’t go NOW, I decided we might as well complete our state fair visit. He dropped us off, and I suggested that we enjoy ourselves. No one was hurt, and we had gotten where we were headed with an excellent parking spot – wherever that tow truck was towing the car to.
fair
Even with those conditions, we had a wonderful time. I don’t think I’ve ever had anything but a wonderful time at the State Fair.
I began going in high school when the class went on a field trip. I was with two other girls and it was my first time at the fair. I was delighted! After that I went every year that I was able to get to it. Moving to Raleigh and living there 14 years helped with that.
I have many pictures of my children at the fair. The times when they were younger were the best. I enjoyed the calm rides that I rode with them. As they got older, I stood and waved at them as they careened by.
Senior Citizens Day is Tuesday, October 18 at the Fair this year. I’m not quite that old, but I would like to see what fun activities are available every day for the Baby Boomer Crowd. I hope I’m chosen as a Deep Fried Ambassador. There’s just something “right” about msplayful at the NC State Fair!

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to NC State Fair

  1. Just to let you know your web page looks a little bit unusual in Safari on my computer with Linux .

    Like

  2. A lot of of the opinions on this particular site dont make sense.

    Like

  3. webaddress says:

    Im having a tiny issue. I cant get my reader to pickup your feed, Im using aol reader by the way.

    Like

  4. account says:

    The design for the web site is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your web site. I may have to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

    Like

  5. How did you make this blog look this cool! Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. Id be thankful!

    Like

  6. wow us gold says:

    very useful material, all in all I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thank you

    Like

  7. fx training says:

    Nice post . Cheers for, commenting on this blog page man. I shall message you some time. I didnt know that!

    Like

  8. Have you considered including some social bookmarking links to these sites. At least for bebo.

    Like

  9. Almost all of the opinions on this site dont make sense.

    Like

  10. go says:

    Re: Whoever made the statement that this was a good website actually needs to get their brain evaluated.

    Like

  11. I experimented with looking at your web site on my ipod touch and the design does not seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most mobile phone layouts are not working with your web page.

    Like

  12. optimism says:

    A insightful blog post right there mate . Thank you for posting .

    Like

  13. buy fridge freezer says:

    I believe that one of your ads initiated my internet browser to resize, you might well need to get that on your blacklist.

    Like

  14. You should really moderate the remarks listed here

    Like

  15. what now says:

    This website has got a lot of very helpful information on it! Thank you for sharing it with me!

    Like

  16. Hi, I just hopped over to your site using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would generally browse, but I enjoyed your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating something worth browsing.

    Like

  17. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed is not functioning today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account and got absolutely nothing.

    Like

  18. this month says:

    You ought to really moderate the remarks on this website

    Like

  19. principles says:

    surprisingly helpful stuff, all in all I imagine this is worthy of a book mark, many thanks

    Like

  20. This is really a wonderful website, would you be interested in doing an interview about just how you produced it? If so e-mail myself!

    Like

  21. I enjoy your wordpress web template, where did you get a hold of it?

    Like

  22. Could you email me with any pointers about how you made this blog site look this awesome, I would appreciate it!

    Like

  23. go there says:

    Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Rss feed is not working today. I tried including it to my Yahoo reader account and got absolutely nothing.

    Like

  24. I enjoy your wordpress web template, where did you get a hold of it?

    Like

  25. logo says:

    Have you given any consideration at all with translating your main webpage into Spanish? I know a couple of of translaters right here that would help you do it for free if you want to contact me personally.

    Like

  26. This is often a wonderful site, would you be interested in making time for an interview about just how you designed it? If so e-mail myself!

    Like

  27. Is it fine to insert a portion of this on my weblog if I submit a reference point to this web page?

    Like

  28. Re: Whoever produced the remark that this was a great web site genuinely needs to have their brain looked at.

    Like

  29. Jesus Christ there is a lot of spammy feedback on this web site. Have you at any time thought about trying to get rid of them or putting in a extension?

    Like

  30. article says:

    I Am Going To have to return again whenever my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your Rss feed so i could go through your blog offline. Thanks.

    Like

  31. Hey there, I just hopped over to your web page thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might typically browse, but I liked your views none the less. Thank you for making some thing well worth reading through.

    Like

  32. How come you dont have your website viewable in wap format? cant view anything in my netbook.

    Like

  33. I experimented with looking at your website in my cellphone and the structure does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not working with your site.

    Like

  34. Whilst I actually like this publish, I think there was an punctuational error shut towards the finish of the third paragraph.

    Like

  35. Please email me with a few hints on how you made this blog look this good , I would be thankful!

    Like

  36. Have you given any kind of consideration at all with translating your main web-site into French? I know a several of translaters right here that would certainly help you do it for free if you wanna make contact with me personally.

    Like

  37. Hi, I just hopped over to your webpage thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically read, but I liked your views none the less. Thank you for creating some thing worthy of reading.

    Like

  38. It seems to me that this website doesnt download in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the exact same problem? I enjoy this blog and dont want to have to miss it when Im away from my computer.

    Like

  39. Pingback: toms shoes ukThe Layers Of Your Brand - Page 13 - VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - ozGTI.com

Leave a Reply

