Moving

I hope to be moving soon. I’ve resigned from my current teaching position effective next week. This is no longer what I want to do with my life.
Life. There has been little of that here for the past three years. This is the dullest place I’ve ever lived. There are no movie theaters, no Wal Mart, no anything. One of the most exciting things I’ve done since I moved here was to stand at the kitchen window and watch the flags at the car dealership across the street wave in the wind and wonder how fast the wind was blowing.
We’ve had snow and a tropical storm. There’s been some flooding. Weather. That has been the exciting activity in this location.
Someone told me a SWAT team showed up at the house across the street from me early one morning. They arrived in a U Haul. I was told the back door of the U Haul opened and men in SWAT outfits jumped out and ran to the doors of the house. I missed it. I was busy watching the flags wave, I guess. That says something when a SWAT team arrives in a U Haul. I can’t get that image out of my head. They’ll never seem mysterious and dangerous to me again. (I wonder if they put a padlock on the back door of the U Haul when they’re hauling SWAT members?)
I did manage to join MENSA while living here. I received an email inviting me to come be tested in Greenville. Oh, boy! A road trip. Off I went. There were two tests. I did well enough to be asked to join and I did that in early April. Or was it March? Time flies when you’re having fun. Or maybe you can’t remember what day it is when you’re bored?

null

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

