No Time To Teach

I teach school and it’s getting so that I spend more time talking about teaching than I do actually teaching. We have meetings all the time to talk about new ways to write lesson plans, new ways to work together, new ways to do everything, but we have not found a new way to actually teach.
It’s very frustrating to me because one of the things I’ve enjoyed in my life was my career. I enjoyed teaching and watching children learn how to do new things. I liked introducing them to concepts they did not already know. I liked coming up with creative ways to teach.
Now I am so busy I don’t even have time to make copies of planned activities or get materials together. This is not what I wanted to do when I chose education as a field. I want to teach, not talk about it.
I know from personal experience (my youngest was homeschooled one year) that you only have to teach 3 hours a day to meet the requirements for a day of school, if you are homeschooling. I wonder if there are 2 or 3 parents with children who do not want to send their children to conventional schools who would be willing to pay me to work with their children daily. I design very good lesson plans. I am very creative. Children like me.
I’m thinking of advertising in a newspaper . . . Published writer with a Masters Degree in Language and Literacy education seeks job homeschooling one or more children.
I could custom design a plan of instruction that would be fun and worthwhile. I wonder if anyone would be interested in hiring me?

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

