Disrespect of Elders

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve noticed that younger people – especially young women in their twenties, do not have the respect for older people that I grew up with. When one of my son’s “friends” on facebook replied that I should STFU to a comment I made about my son’s post, I realized that I was looking into the face of evil and ignorance when I looked at her facebook page.
We all complain that the young people of today are so self-absorbed with themselves that they exhibit very little concern for others around them – especially the older generation. While watching TV last night and viewing the interaction of a young twenty-something female, I noticed much of her disdain for older people came from her ability to navigate technological implements and the older people’s lack of knowledge about them. She spent much of her time interacting with a machine and seemed to think that was what the whole world was about.
I hate to tell the young folks, but if we elders ever decided we were so fascinated with a piece of electronic equipment that we wanted to spend our every waking hours interacting with it, we’d be just as self-centered and self-absorbed as many of them are – and just as capable of doing it. However, if anything ever happens to the electric or battery power that operates their electronic machines, they may wish they had the older people’s knowledge of how to do things without gadgets.
If they haven’t pissed us off TOO much by then, we might still be willing to share. Meanwhile I will continue to judge the character of young people by how many technological gadgets they can operate and how much time they spend doing so.
As for my son’s “friend”, when I questioned him about why he’d want to be friends with such a vile creature, he replied it was only because he needed a certain number of people to play some video game on his computer and she filled the last slot. I guess when your whole self-esteem comes from your ability to interact with an inanimate object and these young women are able to do that, they will consider themselves above the society of older people. That’s their loss, I assure you.

About msplayful

I am someone who finds life humorous and often share my views with friends and co-workers. Since I've been told I should be a stand-up comedian, I thought I'd see how well I could do at writing funny things that happen, or that happen in my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

